The new feature lets you hide posts in feed from certain accounts, without unfollowing them. With this change, you can make your feed even more personalized to what matters to you. When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you’re tagged in.
What happens when I mute someone on Instagram?
If you mute someone’s stories, you won’t see their story at the top of your feed. Muting someone’s story is different from unfollowing them and from muting their profile. You’ll still see their posts in feed.
How can you tell if someone muted you on Instagram?
There’s no surefire way to tell if someone has muted you on Instagram, since you won’t be notified when they do. When you mute someone on Instagram, you’ll still be following them, but you won’t see their posts or stories in your feed.
Do you still get messages if you mute someone on Instagram?
If you mute him, you can still see his messages and stories through his profile and he can see your messages and stories too. … They can message you and call you, but you won’t be notified. You cannot send messages to someone you have blocked, and the messages they send will not reach you.
What happens when someone hides their story from you on Instagram?
Note: When you hide Instagram Stories from certain people, they won’t be able to see anything you post to your story in the future. Hiding Instagram Stories from someone is also different from blocking them and doesn’t prevent them from seeing your profile and posts.
Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
How can you tell if someone has restricted you?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
Why does it say @silent on Instagram?
@silent is a new Instagram feature that allows you to send “silent” direct messages. That means the recipient of the message won’t be notified.
How can you tell if someone muted your story?
They aren’t in your stories’ viewer list. What is this? The final way to know if someone muted you on Instagram is if they don’t view your stories anymore. If they viewed your stories consistently in the past but didn’t view them recently, then they might have muted your stories.
Can someone see that I viewed their Instagram story if we are not friends?
Whenever you view someone else’s story, that person can see that you viewed it. There’s no way to view other people’ stories anonymously, so if you don’t want someone to know that you’re viewing their stories, your only options are to either view it through somebody else’s account or not view it at all.
Can you see who muted you on Instagram?
Since Instagram values its users’ privacy, they won’t be notified if you mute them. Therefore, there is no certain way of knowing if someone muted you.
Can you hide just one story on Instagram?
Settings. Tap Privacy, then tap Story. Tap the number of people next to Hide Story From. Select the people you’d like to hide your story from, then tap Done (iPhone) or tap back in the top left (Android).