Why does Facebook temporarily hide searches?

Facebook wants you to connect to as many people as possible. But according to Dunbar’s number, humans can only maintain up to 150 social relationships. … That’s why many users prefer to hide their Facebook accounts from public searches, or temporarily hide their profiles without deleting them.

Why does Facebook temporarily hide search results?

Facebook is deliberately limiting the number of archived public messages anyone can see: hiding many messages sent by all manner of Facebook pages. … Facebook offers search functions to view historical page posts, however access to millions of posts has been restricted.

How do you make yourself unsearchable on Facebook?

Click the drop-down options next to all available questions, such as who can find your profile by name, by email address and/or phone number. Select the “Friends” option, which prevents strangers and anyone outside of your existing friends list from finding you.

How do I disable public search on Facebook?

Look for the “Public search” settings group. Click “Edit Settings” link. 5. Uncheck “Enable public search” option.

Can you hide your Facebook profile from someone without blocking them?

Depending on your needs, you can either hide your profile from specific users or you can configure your profile to be invisible to everyone except friends or friends of friends. On the other hand, if you only want to hide your profile when you are signed out, you can do so by deactivating your account.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Question: When should you change your Facebook relationship status?

Can you tell if someone search you on Facebook?

Your Facebook searches are private. If you look up someone’s profile or they look up yours, none is the wiser. Facebook is very clear on the matter: “Facebook users cannot track who has viewed their personal homepage. Third-party applications also cannot provide this feature.”

Can someone tell if you stalk them on Facebook?

Your stalkee will never receive a notification from Facebook that you have seen their profile, what you looked at on their profile, or how much time you spent on their profile; those Facebook apps that claim to show users who have looked at their profiles are pretty much scams.

How do I stop someone from seeing my posts without unfriending them?

Tap a friend’s name in your friends list or on a post of theirs in your News Feed, tap the Friends button, then tap Take a Break. Under the Limit What [name of friend] Will See section, tap See Options, then tap “Hide your posts from [name of friend].” Doing so will put the friend on your Restricted list.

What happens when you restrict someone on Facebook?

When you add someone to your Restricted list, you’ll still be friends with them on Facebook, but they’ll only be able to see your public information (example: your posts and profile info you choose to make public) and posts you tag them in.