This type of group is exactly what you would expect it to be: secret. Nobody on Facebook can see a secret group other than those in the group. This group will not appear anywhere on your profile, and only those within the group can see who the members are and what is posted.
Will my friends be notified if I join a private group?
No, they will not receive a notification. Although there is no list of groups on someones profile, historically this information has not been private as group recommendations would be made in side panels of your Facebook feed showing which groups your friend were in.
Is a private Facebook groups really private?
A Secret Facebook group is a private group which is completely hidden from non members. Only members of the group can find it, and new members can only be added at the invite of current members, admins, or moderators. Nobody outside the group will be aware of its existence, and nobody can apply to join.
How do private Facebook groups work?
Secret groups offer the same level of privacy as closed groups under a cloak of invisibility. No one can search for secret groups or request to join them. The only way to get in is to know someone who can invite you. Everything shared in a secret group is visible only to its members.
How do I hide the groups I’m in on Facebook?
Tap in the top right of Facebook, then scroll down to Groups and select your group.
- Tap More, then select View Group Info.
- Tap Edit Group Settings.
- Below Hide Group select Visible or Hidden.
- Tap Save.
Can Facebook groups see your profile?
Can Facebook group admins see your profile? – Quora. Firstly, everyone can see your profile on Facebook. A Facebook Admin can see the part of your profile that you show everyone else, there are no added privileges from being an Admin to a group, what you see is the same everyone else will see.
What is the difference between a closed group and a private group on Facebook?
Closed groups, which only let current members view group content and see who else is in the group, will now be labeled as private but visible groups. Secret groups, which are hidden from search, but still require an invitation to join, will be changed to a private and hidden group.
What does a private group on FB mean?
Groups will now be labeled either “Public” or “Private.” That means that groups that were previously “Closed” or “Secret” will now share the designation of “Private,” meaning that only members of the group can see who’s in the group or what has been posted.
Should my Facebook group be public or private?
If your answer to that is “yes“, you need to set it your Facebook Group privacy settings to Public; as members won’t be able to share if Private. Tip: many businesses create groups to help promote their business (whether directly or indirectly), in which case Public is for you.